Kindness at School

Hello Friends!
This week I wanted to talk about kindness in a school setting.

A study done by the National Center for Education Statistics in 2010 revealed about one in seven students in grades kindergarten through 12th grade is either a bully or has been a victim of bullying.

I am a college student, I know bullying doesn’t end when you exit High School. Bullying continues in the work place, in social environments, and its something that needs to be stopped. I am going to give you little tips on how to spread kindness, and prevent bullying from a college student perspective.

1. Smile

It may seem silly, but a simple smile can brighten up anyones day. Maybe nobody has smiled at that specific person today. I challenge you to smile at 3 strangers next time you’re walking on campus (or around your own neighborhood). If you’re up for a mega challenge, smile at every person you pass.

 smile-1July92013

2. Sit with someone new

This tip is mainly for students who eat in the cafeteria, or in a social setting like a student union. If you see someone sitting alone (and they aren’t doing something important like studying or on a phone call), introduce your self and make a new friend.

image010

3. Compliment

If you see someone wearing new cool shoes, tell them you like their shoes! Find ways to compliment people as much as you can, everyone feels better when someone says something nice about them.

compliments-1

4. Be Respectful

Sometimes you just don’t agree with someones point of view or you don’t like a choice they make, but there is a respectful way to go about telling them. Its also not respectful to run yelling down a hallway a night or steal someone else’s belongings. If you follow the general rule be respectful in college (or in any setting) you can go far.

 be_respectful

5. Be Helpful

If you see someone trip down the stairs, help them up. See someone coming in the door behind you, hold it open for them. If you’re friend is struggling in a class,offer tohelp them study. There are so many ways to be helpful!

 b82bgr8_worktogether

These are just 5 ways to help spread kindness. There are so many more, but these are the ones I find most important. Kindness is so important, especially in a school setting. If every college student follows these 5 easy rules i feel like college could be a better place.

I want to finish by saying, if you are a victim of bullying, talk to someone. A school psychologist (Yes, even colleges have them), a faculty member, for hall bullying a Resident Director, or even a close friend. Bullies need to be stopped, and if victims all stay voiceless, the bullies will continue to bully. And if you witness bullying, stop it. It may sound worthless but over 56% of all students have witnessed a bullying crime take place at their school but a very low percent do anything to stop it. The most obvious way is to intervene in the situation, but there are times it could be harmful to intervene. Talk to the victim and talk to someone else of higher status that I mentioned earlier.

“Knowing what’s right doesn’t mean much unless you do what’s right.” – Theodore Roosevelt

Go spread some kindness today, and together we can end bullying! One smile at a time 🙂

P.S hope you liked my pictures!

8 thoughts on “Kindness at School

  1. I absolutely love your topic of kindness! Your format and choice of media is very attractive and matches the headline. I like how you numbered each step and made it simple and easy to read. Your tone also created a comfortable atmosphere. Keep up the good work!

  2. Love this topic!! I have experienced this is my own everyday life. If I make that small effort to smile at someone it makes a world difference! Typically that other person blossoms and opens right up and is willing to make friends. Everyone should smile more 🙂 Great job!

    • Thank you! You can make world of difference! Remember, even if its a little,” Little by little, a little becomes A LOT” -Tanzanian Proverb. Thanks for stopping by my blog! 🙂

  3. I agree, this really is just a great blog. I really like your background because it really ties in with everything about your blog. All the hearts just make you feel so loved 🙂 Also I really love your format because it makes everything so much easier to read. All five facts are great! I really think that in order to have a good day, you have to smile. I have been really trying to do that especially when people are around me because I want them to feel happy. I have found it incredibly hard to sit with someone new, and i feel like these days I really just go away from doing that. You should definitely do a post on how to approach new people when at the cafeteria. Last the compliments and helping people just really add a nice touch. The other day I bought some ice cream for a friend because she was really stressed out with midterms. After the ice cream, I really made her day. It was good to make someone else happy.

    • Thank you for your sweet comments! I am so glad you try to make others happy! Thats such an amazing thing to do!
      I will forsure consider making that a post or at least a follow up post on approaching people in the cafeteria!
      I love that Random Act of Kindness! Doesn’t happiness make you feel good? Keep an eye out for my next post on “The side effects of kindness”. Have a happy day! 🙂

  4. I found this blog to be really interesting and colorful. I enjoy the way you lay out your posts in a simple and very effective matter. The details you give are great as well as the media that you incorporate along with those tips. In addition, the research that you use in this post is an awesome supplement to your topic. Great blog and great topic!

Leave a Reply

